Assembly Committee Chairs Announced

On December 7, State Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) announced the list of Assembly standing committee chairs for the 2017-18 legislative session. The Assembly has forty-seven legislative committees in total, including five new additions: Federalism and Interstate Relations, Government Accountability and Oversight, Regulatory Licensing Reform, Science and Technology, and Urban Revitalization.
Speaker Vos said in a statement, “These committees reflect the priorities of Assembly Republicans and address the most pressing needs of the state. We want to find real solutions to the problems facing Wisconsin families and their communities.”
In Wisconsin, bills must first be voted through standing committees before going to a vote in the full legislative body. Committees are created by issue area and bills are assigned based on the issue they address. Chairs are typically selected based on legislators’ professional experience, knowledge, or interest in specific interest areas. Committee chairs are responsible for scheduling public hearings and votes for bills.
Full membership for each committee has yet to be announced.
The committee chairs are as follows:

Aging and Long Term Care – Rep. Tom Weatherston
Agriculture – Rep. Lee Nerison
Campaigns and Elections – Rep. Kathy Bernier
Children and Families – Rep. Joel Kitchens
Colleges and Universities – Rep. Dave Murphy
Constitution and Ethics – Rep. Scott Allen
Consumer Protection – Rep. Cindi Duchow
Corrections – Rep. Michael Schraa
Criminal Justice and Public Safety – Rep. John Spiros
Education – Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt
Energy and Utilities – Rep. Mike Kuglitsch
Environment and Forestry – Rep. Jeff Mursau
Family Law – Rep. Jessie Rodriguez
Federalism and Interstate Relations –  Rep. Tyler Vorpagel
Financial Institutions – Rep. Terry Katsma
Government Accountability and Oversight – Rep. Rob Hutton
Health – Rep. Joe Sanfelippo
Housing – Rep. John Jagler
Insurance – Rep. Kevin Petersen
Jobs and the Economy – Rep. Adam Neylon
Judiciary – Rep. Jim Ott
Labor – Rep. Bob Kulp
Mental Health – Rep. Paul Tittl
Rural Development and Mining – Rep. Nancy VanderMeer
Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage – Rep. Joel Kleefisch
Public Benefit Reform – Rep. Scott Krug
Regulatory Licensing Reform – Rep. Cody Horlacher
Science and Technology – Rep. Romaine Quinn
Small Business Development – Rep. Gary Tauchen
State Affairs – Rep. Rob Swearingen
Tourism – Rep. Travis Tranel
Transportation – Rep. Keith Ripp
Local Government – Rep. Ed Brooks
Urban Revitalization – Rep. Bob Gannon
Veterans and Military Affairs – Rep. Ken Skowronski
Ways and Means – Rep. John Macco
Workforce Development – Rep. Warren Petryk
Joint Audit – Rep. Samantha Kerkman
JCRAR – Rep. Joan Ballweg
JFC – Rep. John Nygren
Leg  Council – Rep. Rob Brooks
Tax Exemptions – Rep. Tyler August
Retirement Systems – Rep. Todd Novak
Information Policy and Technology – Rep. Dan Knodl
Review Committee on Criminal Penalties – Rep. Adam Jarchow
Law Revision – Rep. Jim Ott
Building Commission – Rep. Rob Swearingen